Where to begin ?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Beast, Dec 11, 2014.

1. Beast

Beast New Member

Hi

1.I have an idea for a game, but I have no idea where to begin. What language to learn to program the game? i have no programming experience do I use C , C+ , MySql , Java , PHP etc

2.I would like the game to be available to play on your phone (iphone / android etc)

3.I would like it to be simple layout like if anybody remembers Dope Wars ( what language was Dope Wars created in ?)

4.The game would have a clock and when your would complete different tasks the clock would have moved on a few hours . So a day might pass in a few minutes or when a few options were satisfied. And go between day and night.

5.There would be 6 or 7 Tabs like Shop , Home , Work , Club , News etc so main screen might have 6 pictures (would you use Photoshop to create the icon / tab graphics?)

6. So you would buy stock, go to work or check for work etc,

7. You would never see this happen , no animation , just static pictures and you would be prompted as you progress by text. so for example when work is available you would select the Work Tab, and if a job was there you liked you could select it. Then you would hit continue and the clock moves on a few hours and your bank increases. And as your money increases you can buy more and better things in shop and as you do different jobs you get a rep and offered more higher paying jobs. Also Accepting or Rejecting certain tasks will shape your path , and if you dont upgrade in the shop you will meet resistance along the way.

7. I guess it would be like football manager but with a lot less detail

8. The idea for the story would be a petty thief work his way up the criminal career ladder.

9. So There would be a commentary bar , That would tell you to check a tab where new tasks are available, and would not let you continue unless you accepted or refused etc.