Whelp I finally bought a Mac today, and I feel like a loser

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by vjvj, Dec 30, 2008.

1. vjvj

Indie Author

I swear, if anyone hears me utter even the faintest muttering of "It just works", please punch me in the face, ok? :D

In all seriousness, I picked one up to look at both Mac and iPhone development. I've never owned a Mac, nor do I have any development experience with Mac OS (despite the fact that my uncle worked at Apple for like 20 years; go figure), so I guess now is as good a time as any to start getting some experience there.

I have a feeling I'm going to like the OSX UI like 10x more than I like Windows... But I'm still going to resist becoming a "real" Mac user!!!

2. Musenik

Original Member

I worked for Apple for four years, and I don't think of myself as a 'real Mac user'. I've been buying them since 1984. They're just a tool. All computers are annoying, some more than others.

Sure, I could rant about how OS X's Finder is still crap compared to TOS, but I'm past that now.

3. Diragor

Original Member

Good luck! I've found it difficult to avoid becoming a fanatic and trying to talk everyone around me into buying a Mac. I do regularly show the coolest little details to the receptive people around me. :)

Honestly, I really don't understand how people can use any recent Linux distro, Windows XP/Vista and OS X seriously, each for an extended period, and not come away thinking OS X is dramatically better in most ways than the others. I guess it comes down to what you do with it, but I don't even consider it a close contest for the things I do (particularly for music recording and web development). Two years ago I thought they were overpriced and not that different. I bought one mostly for Unity, but it didn't take long to understand what the big deal was and what makes people Mac fans. Two years later and it definitely was not some novelty that wears off, because I still love it.

4. Diragor

Original Member