What would it cost to produce a game?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Pande, Dec 4, 2007.

1. Pande

Pande New Member

Now, this is something I've wondered for what's bordering on a year now, and though I've lurked here before I've never actually mustered up the courage to register and ask. It's come to that point, and here I am, asking.

All licensing and trademarking and shipping and manufacturing and whatever costs aside, how much would it cost to make a game? I have no idea what programmers charge, and I realise it's very subjective (I.E. tetris versus 2D rpg) but a ballpark figure would be awfully handy for us beginners to work with.

My specific situation is this: I'm a 2D artist. I've always wanted to make a game, and I've tried many times to arrange deals that would end up with me making a game (Mostly "I scratch your back, you scratch mine") but I've never yet even got to the stage where my game has a workable demo.

I feel as if I'm going to need to hire someone in order to motivate them to continue working on it. I have no intention of actually SELLING the game once it's finished, as I'm not really a fan of money. All I want to do is fork over 400-500 bucks to get a "frame" for the game* happening. Having a financial investment in said game should be enough to keep me and the programmer going, I hope.

* "The game" will be a 2D platformer with a few physics elements. It's not overly complex, just picture a combination of Yoshi's Island for SNES and Cave Story for the PC.

All I personally need to know is just that: How much do programmers charge?

But, for the sake of general beginner's knowledge, knowing how much artists (Both 2d and 3d) and musicians charge as well is also good to know.

2. Pande

Pande New Member

Yes, yes, double post, terrible pande :)

As I mentioned, I am a 2d pixel artist and have a bit of information that I can contribue to my own thread, so I might as well.