vat and portal deals

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by Robert Cummings, Oct 16, 2005.

1. Robert Cummings

Original Member

Am I to believe that the portals actually pay the VAT? For example my game is sold through real, and a customer buys from them.

Can you confirm if I would need to still pay the VAT myself as I would not want pay VAT twice!

2. Yarlen

Original Member

I think you'd need to pay the VAT. I know we don't pay it here.

3. Steve Ince

Original Member

I'm no expert, but I think that the way VAT works is that it's the customer who pays the VAT (if he/she is elligible) and the vendor is the collector of that tax. The difficulty arises when there is a middle man, in this case the portal. You probably need to call up the Inland Revenue and have a chat.

4. MrCranky

Original Member

I think, given the way it was explained to me, that its easier to look at it from the other way round - not as a sale, but as a charge. Any sequence of transactions, with an intermediary or not, can be seen the same (NB: this is for a UK company, I don't know about other places).

You invoice the portal for (Sale Price * VAT)
    You pay taxman (VAT1)
    You receive (Sale Price)

Portal invoices the customer for [(Sale Price + Charge) * VAT]
    Portal pays taxman (VAT2)
    Portal claims back (VAT1) from taxman
    Portal pays You (Sale Price)
    Portal receives (Charge + (VAT1 - VAT2))

Customer pays Portal (Sale Price + VAT2)

The portal gets back the majority of the VAT on the sale, effectively only having to pay VAT on the Charge they levy. They claim back input VAT, but have to pay output VAT.

If your invoice to the portal includes a VAT portion (you'd have to give your VAT registration number and an exact figure as to how much you are charging as VAT), then they can claim all of that VAT figure back as 'input VAT'. Then they add VAT back on again when they pass the charge onto the customer.