Transferring from your day-job to be fulltime indie?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Morical, May 12, 2009.

1. Morical

Morical New Member

Hello all.

I'm newbie here and I'd like to ask you a question about risk-taking. I've been programmer in industry (not games, plain ICT) for some 5 years now and gotten used to pretty nice monthly income. Obviously my dreams are in making games (wouldn't be here otherwise :) ) and I've been doing small demos / prototypes with a like-minded friend of mine for past year and a half, or so. It seems that now things are actually starting to work out and using my programming skills in game-making has turned out to be great fun.

I would so much want to quit my day job and start developing full time as an indie. And here comes the problem... realistically with no experience of published titles, I'm likely to get no-one financially backing me up. This would mean to end up living with my own savings in order to do what I want.

Well, I don't have that much savings, so I'd manage only for less than half a year or so and I should find a job after that again. After that development would again slow down. Also in this economic situation it seems risky to cut yourself loose from regular job. You never know if you're gonna get back.

So to the question: Where to get the courage to leave comfy paycheck in order to follow your dreams? I'd like hear stories from you guys who have already done so and what you went through in the beginning?

Thanks to all.

-morical

2. Jack Norton

Indie Author

I don't think your situation is really good. If you're used to earn good money and don't have any savings by now means you are used to spend money.
    One of the first thing you need to learn is to make sacrifices. You're not likely to pass 1k/month of income for the first 2-3 year as indie unless you have very successful games (that now probably require a full team to make).