The absolute newbie...

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by and990, Apr 18, 2016.

1. and990

and990 New Member

Hi everyone,

As the title says I'm new in this thing. I thought about making a simple card game, sort of turn-based, in Unity.
    Before I say anything else please remember that besides programming I don't know too much about all of this.
    So I want to do the software part in Eclipse, and then take it, maybe rewrite it into Eclipse and add the visual part. And I also want to use a database, so I can keep all the cards with their respective values and abilities, etc.
    I think that most of you who know even a little about how a game should be made will be very mad at me but I really want to learn how to make a game, even one like this. So want I wanted to ask you is this. Can someone explain or maybe give me a playlist of videos or some tutorial or anything about the basics, database, the programming itself and all of that so that I can have a point to start from? I will appreciate every piece of advice of how to pull this of. I realize that this will probably take months but I have a lot of free time and time is not a problem.

I hope I haven't upset a lot of people with my post and sorry if I posted in the wrong section.

2. Scoper

Indie Author

Interesting. I love Eclipse and I love Unity, but I have never tried them together. Is there any particular reason why you want this unusual combination?
    Unity was built to integrate with MonoDevelop or Visual Studio. But if you manage to get Unity and Eclipse to play well together, please share your experiences.

There are many very good tutorials for Unity. Both in writing and in video. I can recommend the official ones on the Unity website: https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials if you have not already found them.

3. and990

and990 New Member