Starting an Indie Company...

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by dypaul, Feb 4, 2005.

1. dypaul

Original Member

A legitimate indie game company needs at least 2 people: a programmer (to handle the game) and a business guy (who does everything else). The hardest part of starting an indie business would be finding the right people to partner with. For those of you here who have set up a 2+ men shop, I'm curious to know how you met your partners. Was it at a convention? Friend? Thanks.

2. Emmanuel

Moderator Original Member

I can tell you about my previous company: I'm a programmer, and I met with two people: a really sharp marketing guy, and a really sharp operations guy (you know, someone who pays the bills, harasses customers to get their orders actually paid for -- our customers were businesses themselves with shrewd CFOs and all the time in the world to pay a small company like us, etc.).

The company has been in existence for 7 years, and, in all modesty, is a great success, but I can tell you two things I learned:

1. Never delegate your marketing to someone else !
    and
    2. Don't start a company dividing the equity in equal shares (or worse, less for you than the others) !!!!!

Reason for 1. : you can hide behind the marketing guy, think it's his fault your game that you programmed doesn't sell, etc. I did that mistake, it cost us months or years to recognize some of the problems that I would have seen right away in my current mind set (I don't just write code -- I think from the beginning about how I'm going to sell it !)

Reason for 2: you will end up doing more than your equal share of work. I did. I worked probably 3 times as much as the other guys, right from the beginning. That breeds frustration, distrust, and a lot of time lost.

Take my word for it: start it by yourself. Take a contractor for stuff that's easily found on the market, like music. You will be much better off.