some advice?

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by world_creator, Aug 3, 2004.

1. world_creator

Original Member

fairly complete game, starting to think of 'how to sell it?'

hello all, im new to the boards and im also new to the business. ive been programming a game for a while now and the whole thing is starting to wind down so im starting to consider what i can do with it. i don't know how it stands in regards to all the other games and how publishers will like it or not, and i don't exactly know what i should do with it. i know i have the options of a publisher or doing it shareware or maybe both if the publisher would be willing. maybe you all can give me some advice to head me off in the right direction? heres the game:

http://betablocker.budfish.com/

thanks.

#1 world_creator, Aug 3, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2004
  2. Wayward

Original Member

Very Nice

I really liked the your website design (fonts were small though) and the screenshots piqued my interest enough to try the game.

The game itself was very impressive. It had a stylish user-interface, but sometimes I got confused when the back button moved changed places. I had a short play and got battered. I could fly around and shoot things, but I sensed there was a lot more to do and learn which I didn't have the time for. I'm sure that for someone less busy than myself there's a lot there to keep a player enthralled.

Well done on a pro job.

3. Reactor

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

Yep, similar thoughts from me too, but I there were a few things that seemed to need refinement. For some reason I was getting graphical glitches after upping my graphics level, and the sound seemed to crackle every now and then as well. Also, the game didn't seem to fair, since I was quickly destroyed every time a guy shot at me. I had to explore other places in oder to complete my first mission, but couldn't seem to avoid dying.

Otherwise, I think you could do quite well with what you have :)