"Roll your own" flash projector, custom Director projector..?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by jdoe, Aug 9, 2007.

1. jdoe

jdoe New Member

Is it possible to "roll your own" Flash projector?

I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to programming outside of basic HTML/PHP and ActionScript, and am trying to find a way to transparently package a complete, 2D Flash game as an executable.

The options I'm hovering around so far are Northcode's SWF Studio and Macromedia Director MX 2004, but I'd hope to know a bit more about their potential application to my project before spending a lot of time and/or money delving into either. Honestly, from what I've read so far, both seem excessive.

The basic Flash projector would in fact be enough, if I could simply excise or customize the menubar and right-click menu (and change the icon); all I need beside is playback of the SWF without the user's needing to have Flash installed, and hopefully obfuscation of the ActionScript code. Things like a customizable and hideable menubar, customizable right-click menu, Mac compatibility, 'About..' popup in the 'Help' menu, checksumming, etc. would be ideal, but aren't necessary. All the game's facilities -- animation, interaction, save files, etc. -- can be accomplished within Flash/AS itself.

I guess key unifying concept is having the executable show no signs of being a projector at all.

Can Director do this, or is there a more efficient way otherwise without a huge amount of work? Should I start looking into outright C#/Visual Basic as a way to "roll my own" using libraries (?)?

I've got to figure other newbie game creators have found themselves at the same impasse, and I'm very interested to hear the different ways people've gotten past it. Any input is much appreciated!

2. KNau

Original Member