New Indie Game Review Site, Digital Entanglement

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Digital Entanglement, Jul 18, 2011.

1. Digital Entanglement

Hey there, much like an indie dev operation, I'm a small company doing professional game reviews. We have just a few up now, but over a dozen reviews in the works. Since a lot of indie games are hard to give a fair number, we go on the simple basis of "Buy It", "Try It", "Forget It".

The games are judged on:

• First impressions: since most indie games are not standard
    • Ease of use: interface & aesthetics
    • Playability/Difficulty: how fair your game is, mastery of skills, etc.
    • Replayability: If your game has extensive replay value
    If you'd like your game reviewed, or if you have any questions about the process, let me know through a PM and we'll set up a time to talk or I can give you a quick reply.

Edit: For right now we're only doing PC/Mac and console games. We've decided the mobile market is too large in itself, too broad as to what device it will work with and requires another department if we are to cover them.

Thanks!

#1 Digital Entanglement, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  2. princec

Indie Author

Hi, why bother judging first impressions? That's what everyone can determine for themselves easily. How about concentrating on entertainment and value beyond the demo? Getting to this stage is traditionally the hard part for developers and gamers alike.

Cas :)

3. Digital Entanglement

The reason I address first impressions is because some games have misleading first impressions. Some of them will play great the first time you jump in, but quickly drop in quality thereafter. Similary, other games have awful first impressions, but are later improved through further gameplay that grows on you. The first impression is what will sometimes make or break a game, so I like to give readers the idea of what to expect in case it's not representative of the rest of the game.

4. princec