[MUSICIAN] Retro Video Game Music Composer

Discussion in 'Music & Sound Portfolios' started by Alex E., Jul 16, 2016.

1. Alex E.

Alex E. New Member

Hello!

My name is Alex Emenheiser, musician and animator, and I am eager to get into composing for your video game. I have been a pianist for longer than nine years and a vocalist for more than three! I've composed music for things such as Retro Racer for the PC, Eddsworld: the Movie, The Tale of the Tarot Illuminati, and various animated cartoons.

I am experienced in composing authentic, retro chiptunes. Much like how it was done in the 1980s and 1990s, I start the process of composing for the piano and synthesizer before retrofitting the music to one of these lovely, dear consoles:
    • NES / Famicom
    • SNES / Super Famicom
    • Nintendo Game Boy
    • SEGA Genesis / Mega Drive
    • SEGA Master System / Game Gear
    • SEGA Arcade System
    • Commodore 64
    • NEC PC-Engine
    I use FamiTracker, DefleMask, and SNESGSS to create retro video game music. In addition to retro music, I can compose modern orchestral music and electronica using Propellerhead Reason.

I take great inspiration from progressive rock bands and artists like Rush, Genesis, and the great Tim Follin. I treat synthetic music as if it were acoustic for the best listening experience; a synth violin should be treated like an acoustic violin, you know? That's one of my philosophies for composing video game music. As for examples of my work, I have arranged the Encounter Theme from Metal Gear Solid for the PlayStation to the SEGA Genesis and NES, as well as a remix of Ice Cap Zone from Sonic the Hedgehog 3. More recently, I arranged the Main Theme fromGhouls 'n Ghosts for the Amiga for the SEGA Genesis. Here's an original song that I created for the Genesis called He's a Mellow Fellow using original patches and samples from other games. It ended up as a demo song for the DefleMask program!