Greetings

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Fenrir Fenris, May 21, 2009.

1. Fenrir Fenris

Fenrir Fenris New Member

Hey, i'm Fenrir.

I'm 17 and im totally new to this WHOLE thing, seriously. I have no idea if i'd be any good at this, but I think i'd like to see if this it the kind of career I would like, since I have been unsure for... well forever.

I know what your probably thinking, “aww god, it's some newby kid.”

This is very true, I have next to no idea what I'm doing. So, any advice on somone who is very intrested? I have some questions, like how exactly you sell indie games and how you make money etc, but more important is advice!

=]

2. Cevo70

Cevo70 New Member

Are you pursuing a skill/craft that applies to gaming? Are you in school, or maybe a self taught programmer/artist?

3. Jim B

Jim B New Member

A good place to start is Sloperama. Since you are just starting out and looking to make a career as a game developer, I would start with this article.

4. Maupin

Original Member

Start making games.

All the information you need is online and there's nothing stopping you. Don't think, "If I just had X or Y I could make a game." Everything you need is available if you have an internet connection.

Since you're new to game development you'll probably have to learn programming. Learn as you go.

Can you make big, fun games? Or games you'd play yourself in your free time? No, you're new, so you have to start small with boring games like Pong or Space Invaders clones. Or even simpler. That's okay, so did everyone else here. Even small simple games will be a real challenge for a beginning developer.

It's hard to finish a game. 95% or more of people who want to be game developers never finish a single game. You have to be driven. You have to realize that the game you want to make is two or three or more games ahead of where you're at now.