Engine choice, Diablo like Hack n Slash.

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Okottekoneko, Sep 29, 2014.

1. Okottekoneko

Okottekoneko New Member

I am entirely fresh to games development, the closest i got is a few things i made messing around in RPG maker.

I am currently studying in games design, but i have wanted to make a game for years.

We will be using the UDK3 tool kit as part of my course, but i don't think that will be what i should use to make the game type i mentioned in the title.

So i came in search of answers. Google did not help one bit.
    So i came in search of a forum to help and this one popped up, so i am asking here.

The game i want to make is inspired by all the time i put into classic games like diablo 1 and 2, as well as the divinity series.
    Preferably i would like to make something 2d sprite based like diablo 2, but i don't want to start from scratch, i was hoping there was an engine i game get my hands on that i can use to get the ball rolling.

But if that is not an option, is there a 3D engine that is easy to use that will get the job done.
    As i will be using the UDK3 tool kit would that be a viable option or is there something better suited?

I hope i can get some help here.

If someone can point me in the way of a suitable set of tools that a layman like me can learn to use easily that would be great.
    Like i said something that will produce a Diablo 2 style game is preferable, but a set of any tools well suited or even tailored to making these sorts of games would be amazing.

#1 Okottekoneko, Sep 29, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2014
  2. arzi

Metacritic 75+ Indie Author