Dev approaching Indie game design - assets production/inspiration

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by TheSorcerer, Oct 1, 2015.

1. TheSorcerer

TheSorcerer New Member

Hello everyone,
    I find this community very encouraging, and I would like to start asking a very noob question.
    I am a dev, not a game dev, with some years of experience in Java, I've also implemented a game with Unity 3D but it was very basic, and it was years ago.
    This time, I would like to leverage my knowledge of Java, so I decided to go for LibGdx.
    After spending some nights playing with the framework, I felt even more excited to start.
    In my daily job I work using git, and splitting the workload in tickets using Jira (it's like Trello but more enterprise), so the management of a small project should not be a problem for now.
    What I'm try to achieve is the production of a simple 2D cross-platform game (Android, iOS and maybe PC and Mac).
    My weakest point at the moment is the production of the graphic assets, I know how to use photoshop but in a very basic way.
    Some solution I'm considering are:
    - buying a Wacom tablet and learn how to draw
    - paying an artist or buying from a third party like Turbosquid the assets
    - forcing the concept of my game to use a set of assets so simple I can produce them easily

I have previously posted the question on Quora but with no luck (https://www.quora.com/I-am-a-develo...ould-be-the-best-strategic-choice-for-my-case)

I am worried the first option might be too expensive in terms of time and the second in terms of money ;)

Any other option or consideration will be much appreciated.
    Has anyone ever faced a situation like this?
    Are there any affordable suite of Software/Tool to help a pseudo-artist to produce graphic assets?

2. metateen

Moderator Indie Author

Kinky profile picture...