Corona vs Marmalade vs etc...?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Abscissa, Jan 31, 2012.

1. Abscissa

Original Member

Hi, I've done indie gamedev in the past (used to be a regular here once-upon-a-time), but I got sidetracked by webdev for a number of years (yuck!) and am now getting back into games.

I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience with mobile 2D engines like Corona, Marmalade, etc. While I'm no novice to indie gamedev, I'm brand-new to this particular branch of it, and could some some perspective. How do Corona and Marmalade compare? What have been your experiences with them? Any good links?

All I know so far is just what's on their respective websites.

2. NicolasGB

NicolasGB New Member

Hi Nick,

From what I gather, Marmalade is not a game engine. It is a framework, a low level SDK. So the good thing is it runs on every OS (iOS, Android, Symbian, Brew, Blackberry...) and you can program in C++. The downside is, well, it's not a game engine, so it won't come with librairies for such things as handling menus and buttons, a level editor, etc. You'd have to spend over a month developing a game engine on top of the low level layers, and that engine would be cross-platform. I've heard a programmer say it's a pretty neat solution if you're going to make a string of cross-platform 2D games and can invest the upfront time to build an engine.

I've had less feedback on Corona, only that it's based on the Lua scripting language which is supposedly easy to use but difficult to optimize.

You could also look into Cocos2D, an iOS librairy. Probably your best shot if you're going to make iOS only 2D games. It was also ported over to C++ bearing the name Cocos2D-X.

Personnally my company is using Unity. It's not ideal for 2D games but the authoring tools and cross-portability make it well worthwile.

Note: I'm not a programmer myself so please do take my words with a *rather-big* pinch of salt ;-)

3. 30BelowStudios

30BelowStudios New Member