Contract Negotiation...

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by dypaul, Apr 7, 2005.

1. dypaul

Original Member

I'm sure many here are experienced hands at negotiating contracts, especially with big portals like BigFishGames, Yahoo, etc. There are others who are complete novices and would benefit greatly from your experience. For example, there is a marketing method called "bundling", where the distributor bundles lots of games and sells for a bargain price. When your game is included in these bundles, then your take for each sale, instead of being around $9, would be around $2, if that. So you would specifically prevent this sort of marketing in the contract. There are many other pitfalls to watch out for. If those here have done contract negotiating, if you can provide some insight and lessons, that would help the rest of us a lot. I think it is in this sort of contract negotiating that we indies suffer greatly. Thanks.

2. dburger

Original Member

I’m not a lawyer, but I have negotiated dozens of development and publishing contracts for online and CD-ROM distributed games.

Here are a few suggestions:

1. Start by reading the whole contract a couple times through and highlight anything that concerns you or that you don't understand. (Sometimes I need to reread a section five times to figure out what it says and what it means to me.)

2. Pick your battles. In negotiating a contract you are bargaining. You will not get everything your way, so decide which are the biggest issues for you. When push comes to shove, you'll know which issues to hold strong on and which to back down.

3. Write up your list of issues and present it to the other party in writing, then discuss your points on the phone. Be willing to trade off some of the smaller things you want changed for the big ones that are important. Maybe you can get them to improve their payment terms (eg from 90 days to 30 days), but they can’t change the royalty rate.