C++, 2D cross platform engine (PC/MAC/iPhone/iPad)

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by jcottier, Jan 23, 2012.

1. jcottier

jcottier New Member

Hi,

I've been using my own c++ 2d engine since 2006 and I am seriously thinking about making it available for fellow devs... But this is still a lot of work and I would like to have a feeling about if it is worth putting the effort to it.

Basically, my engine is dedicated to create 2D games in c++ on multiplatform. In the ideal world, you do all your work on PC with MSDEV and with a matter of minutes, you can compile and run on XCODE for Mac or iOS support. I think it is a very efficient way (yes, I like MSDEV) and it massively speed up development: it takes time to test on the device, so better only use the ios device just for play testing and not developing. Also, this way, I can create in game tools using the mouse even if my game is dedicated to ios (check this video of the tools for JumpBirdyJump)

I have released many games on PC/Mac/iOS... and it is a dream to not have to worry about porting the whole game. Most of the time, you need to tweak and change UI stuff for iOS, but you can still make these changes on the PC version (limitting your time spent away from msdev).

On iOS, you will not have to learn ObjC or any iOS specific stuff (unless you want to change/upgrade what the engine is doing).

There are a lot of competition in the engine world. But I think this one really stand a chance to find it's audience: C/C++ engine dev that want to release 2D games on computers and ios. I am thinking of making the PC version free, and for the other platforms (iOS/Mac) and the src code and tools (fonts...) asking for something like $200. It is really dead cheap, even if you just wanted to use it as a learning tool (it allows you to be up and running in no times on ios).