Artist Beginnings

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Valignus, May 18, 2010.

1. Valignus

Valignus New Member

Hi I am new to indieGamer. I have been designing a roleplaying game for over ten years, over the past year I've been learning Java for the programming of my game. Within the last two months I've been programming the game engine and its coming along nicely. I still need to perfect my programming but I'm not doing to bad. I would like to draw my own graphics, pixel art to be exact. 2D top-down view of graphics. Eventually isometric view. I'm not sure how to describe the style I have in mind for everything. What books would be good for pixel art, or drawing the things I would need for a roleplaying game? I could use some reference books for objects, people, animals, monsters, anything in a game. I've found some manga books that may be a good place to start for characters but what about everything else in the game?

2. richtaur

Indie Author

Holy shit I can relate to this. Ten years? Wow. It's time to release something, son! Make this your year. I'm serious. Release something this year, just do it.

Anyway, look at other games. You should have no problems finding isometric games out there. I'd look up Landstalker, Dark Savior and Final Fantasy Tactics screenshots. Try to make graphics like theirs with your own touch add to them. Good luck!!

3. Ranoka

Ranoka New Member

Hey Valignus,

Here's a good site that will give you the basics for pixel art, the isometric stuff is good, may have some things you haven't thought of yet:

http://gas13.ru/v3/tutorials/isometric_pixelart_tutorial_mathematics_of_isometrics.php

Here's a good place to start in general for pixel art:

http://gas13.ru/v3/tutorials/sywtbapa_almighty_grass_tile.php

There are other tutorials on the right.

There are books on pixel art (did search in Amazon)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/search/ref=sr_nr_i_0?rh=i:stripbooks,k:pixel+art&keywords=pixel+art