Anyone using XP SP2 on their Dev box?

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by 20thCenturyBoy, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. 20thCenturyBoy

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I install it, I was wondering if anyone had any problems with XP SP2? I use Visual Studio 2003 with Whole Tomato Visual Assist X.

    20thCB
     
  2. wazoo

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    same thing....nada.

    I've got basically the same configuration (VS.NET 2003 + VA.NET) and no problems with SP2...

    I'm REALLY kinda disappointed that SP2 DIDN'T include the .NET runtime (but DID include DX9.0c IIRC)...

    That way, MS could "sneak" in the .NET runtime under the guise of security, giving us indies a chance to release some .NET games for a change...;)
     
  3. Applewood

    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yup, works fine for me here. In fact, I think it's the best thing MS have done in a while.

    You might consider turning off the windows firewall but only if you've got another one, or better yet, a hardware wall or proxy or something. It's a bit in yer face this time around and a lot of apps won't run with it on even if they apparently don't touch the net!

    For some reason Civ3 crashes on exit now too - maybe theres a little bit of spying going on there that weren't tested too well :)

    The pop-up blocker and picture hidificator seems to make IE almost safe to use again too - I've actually stopped using firefox again now (at least until they put a "Save target as..." into it!).

    I'd say backup your stuff (off computer), take a deep breath, dive in.
     
  4. Cartman

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've installed it on a bunch of our development machines. 5 pcs, and 1 laptop. The laptop was the only one that gave me problems. It kept failing halfway through but it finally took after the third try. It seemed it was a conflict between the automatic updates that tried to force the update and the fact I was already trying to manually do the update.
     
  5. Diragor

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Applewood - Firefox has always had, and still does have, "Save target as..". It's called "Save link as...", which is a pretty poor choice of words for the function.
     
  6. Applewood

    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Really? I've seen the 'save link as' option before but I'm sure when I tried it it actually just saves a URL.lnk file.

    What I wanted was to download and save the actual linked file with a new name in the place I wanted to.
     
  7. Diragor

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what it does. I use it all the time but I tried it just now to make sure I'm not crazy. It works. :)
     
  8. Nemesis

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed SP2 via Windows Update.. no problems whatsoever and it was easy as pie.

    But before going for it, you might want to look into any incompatibilities with your existing software e.g. Nero needs to be patched (free) to be fully compatible.
     
  9. Nutter2000

    Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've had some problems with random crashes, mostly during games though so it hasn't interfered with work too much.

    On the other hand my system always was a bit dodgy, I'd finally got it ok but since installing SP2 it's just gone totally unstable again :mad:
    I think the XFX motherboard I've got is to blame.

    Apart from that it certainly seems like a good thing on the whole. I had a problem updating one of the computers here, no explanation for it not working which is my only gripe with windows update, but ordered it for free on CD from MS and it installed fine.
     

Share This Page

  • About Indie Gamer

    When the original Dexterity Forums closed in 2004, Indie Gamer was born and a diverse community has grown out of a passion for creating great games. Here you will find over 10 years of in-depth discussion on game design, the business of game development, and marketing/sales. Indie Gamer also provides a friendly place to meet up with other Developers, Artists, Composers and Writers.
  • Buy us a beer!

    Indie Gamer is delicately held together by a single poor bastard who thankfully gets help from various community volunteers. If you frequent this site or have found value in something you've learned here, help keep the site running by donating a few dollars (for beer of course)!

    Sure, I'll Buy You a Beer