14 y/o App Developer. Made about 9 games. Need help getting downloads. Any tips?

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by Aryamapple, Jul 2, 2016.

1. Aryamapple

Aryamapple New Member

Hey guys, I'm a 14 y/o App Dev and I make apps and games for a hobby. I spent over 1000 hours over the last year working on my main game Save the Square. I feel it has a lot of potential. I have 9 games in total. I need tips on getting more downloads. Thanks!
    Check them out here: hyperurl.co/ArGoAPPS

2. sn0wfall

sn0wfall New Member

Probably needs more polish, and your icons are not really good, you should make it look better.

3. 3ph0r

Hey there

firstly, good job on making apps at your age! :) at least you have the patience.

as for getting more downloads, i would agree with snowfall and would recommend working on getting more "professional" icons.

looking at the screenshots, it looks like your games could do with better graphics as it does look like a poorly made game. I'm sure this isn't the case(I haven't played your games...yet) but unfortunately everyone will judge whether your app is worth downloading just from looking at the screenshots.
    A game can have the best game play in the world but if it doesn't look appealing then no one will bother to try it. Its a shame really, but that's just the way it is.

so if I were you I would focus on polishing the graphics in your games :)

P.S. Dont give up or get discouraged! It doesn't matter if you don't get many downloads on your apps. The whole experience of making apps will help you a lot in the future.

maxkiel likes this.
  4. bantamcitygames

Administrator Original Member Indie Author Greenlit

I agree with the comments above. I would pick the game that you feel has the most potential and hire a contract artist (browse the Art Portfolio section of this site for examples). Most of them will work within a reasonable "indie" budget.

maxkiel likes this.
  5. Rekusi

Indie Author